跳到主要内容
搜索

身体畸形障碍

BDD 或身体畸形障碍主要是一种心理障碍,经常出现在皮肤心理障碍的皮肤科医生面前。患者主要表现为主观上严重但客观上轻微的问题。在治疗前及早发现这些患者非常重要,因此本页面应运而生。

关键点

  • BDD 通常表现为痤疮疤痕、发红和毛孔粗大
  • 毛孔粗大或毛孔恐惧症占我们接诊的 BDD 病例的 50%以上
  • 我们的治疗方法可以客观地改善大多数病例,但不是所有病例
  • 我们可以帮助患有 BDD 的患者,但前提是他们必须具备以下洞察力
  • 我们将在治疗初期确定您的障碍,以帮助我们将您的期望与可能实现的目标统一起来
预约

身体畸形障碍概述

最佳结果: 经常从不
手术时间: 可变
结果持续时间: 2 分钟
回去工作不固定
恢复:可变
麻醉剂可变
您的专家 精神科医生或心理学家
多少钱:$$$$$ 终生消费

我们的结果不言自明

基底细胞癌治疗
屏幕截图 2022 03 16 at 20.53.12
屏幕截图 2022 03 16 at 20.53.27

常见问题

什么是 BDD 或身体畸形障碍?

当你发现自己花了大量时间纠结、隐藏或试图纠正自己认为是缺陷而别人却不这么认为 时,就会出现身体畸形障碍这种病非常常见,大约每 50 人中就有 1 人患有 BDD。这种病症影响各个年龄段的男性和女性,但大多数病例始于青春期早期。

 

如何知道自己是否患有身体畸形障碍?

大多数 BDD 患者都无法深入了解自己的病情。了解客观评估的一个好方法是询问您的家人或好友,他们是否与您一样看待您的病情。

当你见到我们的临床医生时,我们会将你置于一个病理量表上,即你的客观检查结果与我们作为临床医生(而非心理学家或精神病学家)所看到的结果相比较。

皮肤科医生会遇到哪些常见的身体畸形障碍?

BDD超级常见,我们每天至少接诊 1-2 例。大多数 患者 对自己的皮肤状况 一无所知 。发生顺序为

 

  • 痤疮疤痕 BDD
  • 毛孔粗大 BDD
  • 面部发红 BDD
  • 妊娠纹 BDD
  • 面部老化 BDD
  • 面部不对称 BDD
  • 面部特征 BDD,最常见的是鼻子
  • 福特斯点 BDD

为什么这个登陆页面很重要?

BDD 占不快乐患者的大多数。虽然他们在我们的患者群体中占比不到 1%,但 BDD 占我们咨询次数的 25% 以上。 这是因为在大多数情况下,患者的期望无法实现,因此 及早发现这些患者极为重要。

什么是痤疮疤痕 BDD?

这是迄今为止 最常见的 BDD 表现形式,因为 Cutis 皮肤科以疤痕治疗而闻名。我们接诊的疤痕严重程度不一,有极端严重的疤痕,也有轻度疤痕,甚至还有 较轻的 BDD 患者。

身体畸形恐惧症疤痕患者有--

  • 客观轻度疤痕。这是指在正常光线下几乎看不到的疤痕。客观评估指的是别人看到的,而不是你看到的。对客观性的一个很好的理解就是询问你的家人和朋友他们的选择。如果他们没有看到或不理解你所看到的,那么很可能他们告诉你的是事实。

 

  • 寻找疤痕的行为。绝大多数疤痕 BDD 患者都会使用一些技巧,如倾斜照明和近距离照镜子(距离不超过 30 厘米)。 我们使用倾斜照明来展示疤痕,通常距离为 2-3 米或更远,而不是 30 厘米。皮肤科医生使用灯光快速有效地评估轮廓变化,反之,BDD 患者则使用灯光寻找细微瑕疵。

 

  • 在考虑疤痕、治疗或 之前多次治疗上的时间 与客观结果不成正比。关键词是客观而非主观。例如,客观上严重的疤痕可以在 2 米或 2 米以上的正常摄影中显示出来。我们如何评估客观的严重疤痕?我们会将您的疤痕与其他患者的疤痕进行对比,而不是与您自己的心理进行对比。

问题是,对 BDD 患者来说,什么是安全的治疗方法?

对于轻微疤痕(客观疤痕,而非主观疤痕),应遵循低风险治疗的原则。这意味着我们的 皮肤科医生通常不会让你接受高强度的治疗,如完全烧蚀的二氧化碳激光或铒激光、手术次切割、切除或高强度换肤。这就是所谓的风险与收益比。适合痤疮疤痕 BDD 患者的治疗方法包括

  • 小光斑保守型 CO2 激光器
  • 护士使用小口径套管进行盐水亚切割
  • Fraxel 或混合激光
  • 微针美塑在某些
  • 治疗色素沉着的血管激光和皮米激光

我的痤疮疤痕会随着治疗次数的减少而改善吗?

是的,但我们不知道您对结果是否满意。 如果你能洞察自己的病情,你就会承认病情有所改善,并注意到这只是在可感知的微小客观评估 上有所改善这就是 "半空之杯 "的比喻。

在 Cutis Dermatology,我们是诚实的(通常是残酷的诚实),我们是来帮助你了解你的病情,而不是向你推销一打激光套餐。

皮肤科医生能提供哪些帮助?

皮肤科医生会根据病理程度对你的情况进行分级。这意味着他们会根据我们所看到的各种情况,而不是根据你主观上的瑕疵程度,对你的皮肤状况进行分级

了解身体畸形与真正严重病变之间的区别非常重要。后者是指主观评估反映了客观现实。前者是指主观评估与客观发现不相称。我们的评估是痛苦而诚实的。

治疗次数和接诊医生数量与 BDD 有什么关系?

很多。我们必须将 BDD 与严重病理或客观上(还是这个词)严重的实际身体状况 区分开来。一个典型的例子就是客观上严重的无反应瘢痕,它对以往临床医生的治疗方法屡试不爽。

相比之下,BDD 患者客观上会轻微的体征,但除了接受过大量治疗外,还见过很多临床医生。我们尝试在治疗初期识别这些患者,以确保他们的期望是一致的。进行满意度很低的治疗不符合我们或您的利益。

谁是 BDD 的最佳就诊者?

作为皮肤科医生,我们接受 的训练是处理真正的皮肤问题。 心理皮肤病学与 我们的一些同事对这一亚专科很感兴趣 ,即处理与实际身体检查结果不相称的心理问题患者。

Cutis 皮肤科的程序性皮肤科医生不具备这种亚专业兴趣,也不具备心理咨询方面的技能。因此,为了您的最佳利益,请尽早转诊给心理学家或精神科医生。我们会将合适的病例转介给布林巴的心理学家,即 强迫症诊所。

什么是毛孔恐惧症 BDD?

毛孔粗大恐惧症是一种超级常见的 疾病 ,与痤疮疤痕恐惧症并列为 我们皮肤科医生 最常见 的疾病。 本诊所每天至少有一名患者患有毛孔恐惧症。

 

患者不可避免地会表现为 "毛孔粗大",而实际上他们的毛孔是 "正常大小"。我们怎么知道什么是正常大小的毛孔?因为在过去的 20 年里,我们每天都要对人脸进行检查。

我们的皮肤科医生会根据客观而非主观的评估 结果,确定你在 BELL CURVE 曲线上的位置 毛孔恐惧症 BDD 患者不同于真正的毛孔粗大患者。毛孔恐惧症 BDD 患者的客观评分在第 40 到 60 百分位之间,而 真正的毛孔粗大--疤痕--冰锥疤痕则在 第 85 百分位以上。

如何处理毛孔粗大 BDD?

如果您的目标与我们的目标一致,我们就能治疗您的病症。如果您的目标不切实际,或者您不认为您的 "毛孔粗大 "是在钟形曲线的中位数范围内,就不要考虑治疗。我们可以可靠地将钟形曲线向左移动,并取得明显的客观改善,而不是主观改善。我们可以通过以下方法治疗毛孔粗大

 

  • 适用于有色人种和深色肤质的皮秒激光器
  • 用于浅色皮肤的高密度点阵激光器
  • 如果油脂分泌过多导致毛孔粗大,可结合外用药和内服药来减少油脂分泌

 

了解自己是否患有毛孔粗大 BDD 的好方法是向家人或朋友询问自己的毛孔大小。如果您有自己的见解,我们可以帮助您;如果您没有自己的见解,最好去看心理学家或精神科医生,而不是皮肤科医生。

什么是面部发红 BDD?

发红是正常肤色的一部分。超过正常范围 则为异常。 真正的病变可见于红斑痤疮患者、因年龄、日晒、外伤导致的毛细血管破裂以及潮红。对于潮红患者,我们只能在您身体潮红(间歇性潮红)时才能诊断。

如果您带着照片来就诊,如果照片客观地显示了红血丝,那么皮肤科医生就能更好地了解您的病情。 如果您能看到红斑,而其他人却看不到,那么您很可能患有 BDD。包括激光在内的治疗程序价值不大。

如何治疗面部红血丝 BDD?

很难主观地改善红脸 ,因为激光的作用是减少真实的 红脸 ,而不是想象中的 红脸 。这是物理定律 ,我们无法改变。

如果您有间歇性潮红和脸红,使用氯尼丁和其他血管调节剂等药物会有所帮助。在极少数情况下,您的脸红可能是继发于类癌、嗜铬细胞瘤、药物和其他疾病。皮肤科医生可能需要调查并排除这些情况。

如果您有生理性潮红(咨询时可能没有),最好去看医生。 激光不是一线治疗方法,因为它对真正的红血丝效果最好。

产品

Medik8物理防晒霜SPF50+
$69.00

Dermaceutic万事达颜料21天套装
$154.00

Cosmelan 脱皮疗法是清除浅表黄褐斑最快的方法之一,但需要一周的停工期。

妊娠纹 BDD 如何表现及如何治疗?

妊娠纹 BDD 很常见,应与真正的病理学区别开来。后者对我们来说很容易解读,但对患者来说却难以理解。以下是一些帮助区别的方法。

真正的妊娠纹病理:高度明显(客观而非主观)的妊娠纹,与正常皮肤颜色形成鲜明对比,即在 2 米或更远处可见红色、粉色或紫色。

可能的妊娠纹 BDD:2 米或更高处几乎看不到的妊娠纹。对比度低的妊娠纹通常为白色或淡淡的粉红色。

对于真正的病变,我们可以让大多数患者的情况有所改观,尤其是妊娠纹的颜色。与任何病症一样,效果也会有所不同。

什么是面部老化 BDD?

我们明白,大多数患者都希望自己的容貌与年龄相符。我们的皮肤科医生和护士擅长面部年轻化,但我们无法创造奇迹。 我们的精神是诚实,我们会给你切合实际的期望。 我们的期望值不会超出我们所能达到的范围。

迄今为止, BDD 老化最常见的部位 是下巴。因为这个部位会随着光线角度和颈部的弯曲而变得突出。有些患者可能需要进行手术治疗。

什么是面部不对称 BDD?

这是 BDD 的另一种常见表现形式。需要掌握的一个重要概念是,每个人都会有不对称的情况,这是很自然的,在合理的范围内是正常的。这与眉毛、眼睑、脸颊高度、下颌轮廓和其他部位有关。

在某些情况下,我们可以使用皮肤填充剂和抗皱剂等注射剂轻松纠正不对称现象,但如果我们预感到您可能患有面部不对称 BDD,我们的注射专家就不适合您了。有许多其他注射师会从事这项工作,但我们的专家不会治疗面部不对称 BDD。

什么是福特斯斑 BDD?

福特斯斑很像毛孔粗大。每个人都处于一条钟形曲线上。对于某些患者来说,异位皮脂腺的数量和大小位于前 2-10%。因此,这些患者可以寻求治疗。

与面部毛孔不同,治疗福特斯斑非常困难。需要使用烧蚀激光,嘴唇的恢复时间超过一周。这是一项艰巨的手术,因为在一个多星期的时间里,你都不能正常进食。福特斯斑可能会在治疗后几周到几个月内复发,因此我们不建议患者接受这种治疗。

有哪些资源可以帮助我了解 BDD?

如果您想认真寻求帮助,请去看对身体畸形感兴趣的心理学家。在布里斯班, 我们会将患者转介到布林巴的强迫症诊所。如需了解更多信息,请访问以下网站。

  • https://www.helpguide.org/articles/anxiety/body-dysmorphic-disorderbdd.htm
  •  https://bdd.iocdf.org/professionals/therapists-guide-to-bdd-tx/

第二或第三意见能帮上忙吗?

当然, 只要你有洞察力。如果两位专家的诊断结果一致,就有望提高您对自己所患疾病的洞察力。这适用于所有方面,包括痤疮疤痕 BDD、脸红 BDD、毛孔粗大等。

如果你真的需要帮助,可以去看心理医生或精神病医生。大多数患者都会抵触这种想法,因为他们认为自己的情况属于真正病态的上限。这就是畸形洞察的本质。虽然程序不能改变障碍。

为什么寻找一名适合您的医生很重要?

有几位皮肤科医生对精神皮肤病学很感兴趣,但遗憾的是,他们中没有人在 Cutis 皮肤科从事这种形式的医疗。

我们的临床医生主要专注于治疗物理病理,因为我们积极参与研发。这意味着我们的病人群体是基于客观的身体检查结果,而这些结果是可以通过激光、化学换肤、注射和外科手术来治疗的。

如果您的病例与精神皮肤科重叠,我们可能会建议您咨询受过心理治疗培训的临床医生。 这样做符合您的最佳利益,因为这样可以建立最佳的治疗联盟。

向我们询问更多关于该疗法的信息

    最新新闻

    Insta代码在这里
    Insta代码在这里
    Insta代码在这里

Body Dysmorphic Disorder

BDD or body dysmorphic disorder is primarily a psychological disorder that frequently presents to dermatologists in the spectrum of psychocutaneous disorders. Essentially patients present with problems that are subjectively severe, but objectively mild. It is important to identify these patients early prior to treatment, hence this landing page.

Key Points

  • BDD often presents as acne scarring, redness, & enlarged pores
  • Enlarged pores or pore phobia accounts for over 50% of BDD cases we see
  • Our treatments can objectively improve most but not all cases
  • We can help patients with BDD, providing they have insight
  • We will identify your disorder early in the treatment to help us align your expectations with what is possible
BOOK APPOINTMENT

Body Dysmorphic Disorder at a glance

Best outcomes: Often never
Procedure time: Variable
Duration of results: 2 minutes
Back to work: Variable
Recovery: Variable
Anaesthetic: Variable
Your specialist: Psychiatrist or psychologist
How much: $$$$$ Lifetime spend

Our results speak for themselves

Basal Cell Carcinoma Treatment
Screen Shot 2022 03 16 at 20.53.12
Screen Shot 2022 03 16 at 20.53.27

FAQs

What is BDD or body dysmorphic disorder?

Body dysmorphic disorder occurs when you find yourself spending a lot of time obsessing over, hiding, or trying to correct what you see as flaws however others do not. It is super common, about 1 in 50 people have BDD. This condition affects both men and women of all ages, although most cases begin in early adolescence.

 

How do I know if I have body dysmorphic disorder?

Most BDD patients have no insight into their condition. A good way to understand objective assessment is to ask your family members or close friends whether they see your condition in the same light as you.

When you see our clinicians we place you on a scale of pathology, namely what your objective findings are compared to what we see as clinicians (not as psychologist or psychiatrist).

What are the common forms of body dysmorphic disorders encountered by dermatologists?

BDD is super common, we see at least 1-2 cases daily. Most patients have no insight into their skin condition. In order of occurrence-

 

  • Acne scar BDD
  • Enlarged pores BDD
  • Facial redness BDD
  • Stretch marks BDD
  • Facial ageing BDD
  • Facial asymmetry BDD
  • Facial features BDD, nose most commonly
  • Fordyce spots BDD

Why is this landing page important?

BDD accounts for the majority of unhappy patients. Though they make up less than one percent of our patient cohort, BDD accounts for more than 25% of our counselling sessions. This is because in most cases expectations can not be met, hence it is super important to identify these patients early.

What is acne scarring BDD?

This is by far the most common presentation of BDD as Cutis Dermatology is known for scar treatments. We see a range of severity from extreme severe cases to the other end of the spectrum, mild scarring & even milder BDD patients. 

Body dysmorphophobia scar patients have-

  • Objectively mild scars. This means scars that are barely visible in normal lighting. Objective assessment means what others see, not what you see. A good understanding of objectivity is to ask your family & friends their options. If they don’t see or understand what you see, chances are they are telling you the truth.

 

  • Scar seeking behaviour. An overwhelming majority of scar BDD patients use techniques like angled lighting coupled with close examination with a mirror (holding it at 30 cm or less).  We use angled lighting to demonstrate scars, often at distances of 2-3 metres or more, & not at 30 cm. Lighting is used by dermatologists to quickly & efficiently assess contour changes, whilst conversely it is applied in BDD patients to seek out minor imperfections.

 

  • Time spent thinking about scars, treatments & or having had multiple prior treatments that are out of proportion to objective findings. The key word is objective not subjective. For example, objectively severe scars can be demonstrated with normal photography at 2 metres or more. How do we assess objectively severe scars? We put you on a scar scale, measured against other patients & not your own psyche. 

The question is, what are safe treatments for patients with BDD?

For minor scars (objective, not subjective), a good ethos to follow is low risk treatment. This means our dermatologists will often not subject you to high intensity treatments such as fully ablative CO2 or erbium lasers, surgical subcision, excision or high strength peels. The logic behind this is known as the risk to benefit ratio. Suitable treatments for acne scar BDD patients include-

  • Small spot conservative CO2 lasers
  • Saline subcision by nurses using small bore cannula
  • Fraxel or hybrid lasers
  • Microneedling in some
  • Vascular & pico lasers for pigmentation

Will my acne scars improve with smaller treatments?

Yes, but we don’t know if you will be happy enough with the outcome. If you have insight into your condition, you will acknowledge that there is an improvement, noting it is an improvement on a perceivably small objective assessment. It is the glass half empty analogy.

At Cutis Dermatology we are honest (most often brutally honest), we are here to help you understand your condition, & not sell you a dozen laser packages.

How can a dermatologist help?

A dermatologist will place your condition on the scale of pathology. This means they will grade your skin condition according to the spectrum of conditions that we see, not against your subjective scale of imperfections.

It is important to understand the difference between body dysmorphia & true severe pathology. The latter is when subjective assessment reflects objective reality. The former is when subjective assessment is out of proportion to objective findings. We are painfully honest with our assessment.

What has the number of treatments & the number of clinicians seen got to do with BDD?

Lots. We must differentiate BDD from severe pathology or real physical conditions that are objectively (again this word) severe. A classic example would be objectively severe unresponsive scarring, that is recalcitrant to treatments by previous clinicians.

In contrast BDD patients will have objectively mild physical signs, but also have seen lots of clinicians in addition to having had plenty of treatments. We try to identify these patients early in the course of treatments to ensure that expectations are aligned. It is not in our interest or yours to undertake treatments that have a very low satisfaction rate. 

Who is the best person to see for BDD?

As dermatologists, we are trained to deal with real skin problems. There is an overlap with psycho-dermatology & some of our colleagues are interested in this subspeciality, namely managing patients with psychological concerns that are out of proportion to actual physical findings.

Our procedural dermatologists at Cutis Dermatology do not have this subspecialty interest, nor the skill sets in the context of counselling. For these reasons it is in your best interest to be referred to psychologists or psychiatrists early. We refer suitable cases to psychologists in Bulimba known as the OCD clinic. 

What is pore phobia BDD?

Pore size BDD is super common, ranking with acne scar BDD as the top condition we see as dermatologists. The practice sees at least one patient daily who has pore phobia BDD.

 

Inevitably patients present as having ‘enlarged pores’, when in reality they have ‘normal size pores’. How do we know what normal size pores are? It is because we have examined faces on a daily basis for the past 2 decades.

Our dermatologists will determine where you fit on a BELL CURVE, based upon objective assessments, not subjective ones. Pore phobia BDD patients are different from true enlarged pores. Pore phobia BDD patients lie in the 40th to 60th centile objectively, whilst true enlarged pores – pick scars – ice pick scars lie beyond the 85th centile.

How do we approach enlarged pores BDD?

If your aims are aligned with ours, we can treat your condition. If you are unrealistic with your goals or do not believe that the size of your ‘enlarged pores’ are within the median of a bell curve, don’t consider treatment. We can reliably shift the bell curve to the left & make a demonstrable objective, not subjective improvement. We can treat enlarged pores with-

 

  • Pico lasers for ethnic & darker skin types
  • High density fractional lasers in lighter skin types
  • A combination of topicals & systemic agents to reduce oil production if this contributes to enlarged pores

 

A good way to understand if you have enlarged pores BDD is to ask family or friends regarding your pore sizing. If you have insight we can help you, if you do not, you are best seen by a psychologist or psychiatrist & not a dermatologist. 

What is facial redness BDD?

Redness is part of any normal skin colour. It is abnormal when it exceeds the normal range. True pathology can be seen in patients with rosacea, broken capillaries due to age, sun, trauma & in cases of flushing-blushing. For flushers, we can only diagnose this when you physically flush (which is intermittent).

If you bring a photo to a consultation, & if it objectively shows redness, then your dermatologist will get a better understanding of your condition. If you see redness & other people can not, chances are you have BDD. Procedures including lasers are of little value.

How do we treat facial redness BDD?

It Is difficult to subjectively improve red faces as lasers work by reducing real redness, not imaginary redness. This is the law of physics & we cannot change that.

If you have intermittent flushing & blushing, the use of medications such as clonidine, & other blood vessel modulators can help. In rare situations your flushing may be secondary to conditions such as carcinoid tumours, pheochromocytoma, medications & other conditions. A medical dermatologist may need to investigate & rule out these conditions.

If you have physiological flushing (what may be absent during the consultation), you are better off seeing a medical doctor. Lasers are not first line as they work best for actual redness.

Products

Medik8 Physical Sunscreen SPF50+
$69.00

Dermaceutic All Things Pigment 21 Day Kit
$154.00

The Cosmelan Peel is one of the fastest methods to clear up superficial melasma, but comes with a one week downtime.

How can stretch marks BDD present & how to treat?

Stretch mark BDD is common & should be differentiated from real pathology. The latter is easy for us to decipher but can be impossibly difficult for patients to understand. Here are some help differences.

True stretch mark pathology: highly visible (objective not subjective) stretch marks that are contrasted with normal skin colour namely red, pink, or purple visible at 2 metres or more.

Probable stretch mark BDD: barely visible stretch marks at 2 metre or more. Low contrast stretch marks that are usually white or faint pink.

For real pathology, we can make a difference in most patients, especially in the colour of stretch marks. As with any medical condition, results will vary.

What is facial ageing BDD & how to manage?

We get it, most patients would like to look good for their age. Our dermatologists & nurses are great at facial rejuvenation, however we can not work miracles. Our ethos is honesty, & we will give you realistic expectations. We’re not in it for expectations above & beyond what we can achieve.

By far the most common area for ageing BDD is the jowls. It is because this area can be accentuated with angles of light & flexion of the neck. A surgical option may be required in some patients.

What is facial asymmetry BDD?

This is another frequent presentation of BDD. An important concept to grasp is that everyone is asymmetrical, it is natural & within reason it is normal. This pertains to eyebrows, eyelids, cheek height, jawline contour & other areas.

In some cases, we can easily correct asymmetry with injectables including dermal fillers & anti-wrinkle, however if we have an inkling that you may have facial asymmetry BDD, our injectors are not for you. There are many other injectors that will take up this job, but our specialist will not treat facial asymmetry BDD.

What is Fordyce spots BDD?

Fordyce spots are much like pore sizing. Everyone lies on a bell curve. For some patients, the number & size of ectopic sebaceous glands lie within the top 2-10%. Hence these patients may seek treatment.

Unlike facial pores, treating Fordyce spots is difficult. Ablative lasers are required, & on the lips the recovery time pushes past one week. It is an epic procedure to undertake as you cannot eat properly for over a week. Fordyce can recur within a few weeks to months of treatment; hence we discourage patients from undertaking this treatment.

What are some resources that can help me understand BDD?

If you are serious about help, visit a psychologist who has an interest in body dysmorphia. In Brisbane, we refer patients to the OCD Clinic in Bulimba. For more information visit the websites below.

  • https://www.helpguide.org/articles/anxiety/body-dysmorphic-disorderbdd.htm
  •  https://bdd.iocdf.org/professionals/therapists-guide-to-bdd-tx/

Can a second or third opinion help?

Absolutely, providing you have insight. If two specialists concur with a diagnosis, it should hopefully increase your insight regarding your perceived condition. This applies to all facets, including acne scar BDD, flushing-blushing BDD, pore sizing & more.

If you really want help, see a psychologist or a psychiatrist. Most patients are resistant to this idea, as they think their condition lies in the upper range of real pathology. This is the nature of dysmorphic insight. A procedure cannot change a though disorder.

Why is it important to find a physician that suits your needs?

There are a few dermatologists that have an interest in psychodermatology, unfortunately none of them practice this form of medicine at Cutis Dermatology.

Our clinicians are primarily focused on treating physical pathology as we are heavily involved in research & development. This means our patient cohort is based upon objective physical findings that are treatable with lasers, chemical peels, injectables & surgical procedures.

If your case overlaps with psychodermatology, we may suggest that you consult with a clinician trained in the psychological aspect of management. It is in your best interest to do so as this provides the best therapeutic alliance.

Ask us more about this treatment

    Latest news

    Insta code goes here
    Insta code goes here
    Insta code goes here